Student Services

 

The Student Services Department is responsible for oversight of special education, health services and school counseling.  The Student Services personnel work collaboratively with general educators, administrators and families to meet the needs of all students.

The Office of Student Services at PVPA conducts evaluations to determine eligibility for Special Education Services and is responsible for the implementation of Section 504 Accommodations Plans and Individualized Education Programs (IEPs) for students who are determined eligible for special education services.

 

Contact Us

 

Brent Nielsen, Director of Student Services - bnielsen@pvpa.org, ext. 300

Beth Crosby, Administrative Assistant - ecrosby@pvpa.org, ext. 226

Mya Holmes, School Psychologist - mholmes@pvpa.org, ext. 421

 

Referral Information for Special Education

If you believe your child has a disability and requires accommodations, related services, auxiliary aids and devices and/or assistive technology in order to fully participate in the programs offered by PVPA, you may refer your child for an evaluation under Section 504 by contacting your child’s school counselor or the Student Services Office.

If you believe your child has a disability and may be eligible for special education services through an Individualized Education Program (IEP), you may refer him/her for an evaluation by contacting either the Student Services Office or your child’s school counselor.

Once consent for the evaluation has been signed and received by the Student Services Office, the evaluation will be conducted to assess areas of suspected disability. Upon completion of the evaluation, school staff will meet with you to discuss eligibility, and if your child is eligible, an IEP or 504 Plan will be developed.

 

Know Your Rights: Students With Disabilities in Charter Schools

 

Academic Support

The Academic Support department at PVPA conducts evaluations to determine eligibility for Special Education Services and is responsible for the implementation of Section 504 Accommodations Plans and Individualized Education Plans (IEP) for students who are determined eligible for special education services.

Academic support staff work in collaboration with general educators to ensure that students with disabilities are provided with the appropriate accommodations and modifications necessary to access the general curriculum. Specially designed instruction is provided by Academic Support teachers in a highly structured, small group environment for eligible students. Related services such as speech and language therapy, counseling, occupational therapy and physical therapy are provided by the appropriate staff or contracted service providers.

Contact

 

 High School

Loris Bjorkman-Joslyn, Academic Support Teacher/Department Leader - lbjorkman@pvpa.org, ext. 214

Anna Heidenreich, Academic Support Teacher - aheidenreich@pvpa.org, ext. 220

Justin Turner, Academic Support Teacher - jturner@pvpa.org, ext. 217

 

Middle School

Alyssa Prew, Academic Support Teacher - aprew@pvpa.org, ext. 134

Kathy Unruh,  Academic Support Teacher/Specialized Reading Tutor - kunruh@pvpa.org, ext. 412